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HB1559 
Morris 

Fourth or subsequent DUI. Provides that any person convicted of a fourth or subsequent offense of §18.2-266 (DUI) 
within any time period is guilty of a Class 6 felony and that punishment shall include a mandatory minimum term of 
imprisonment of one year and a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000. Under current law, penalties are the same but the 
offenses must occur within a 10-year period. 

Approved by 
Governor 

HB1577 
Wilt 

TANF; restrictions on use of cash assistance. Prohibits the use of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families cash 
assistance paid to an eligible recipient (i) for the purchase of alcoholic beverages, tobacco products, lottery tickets, or 
sexually explicit visual materials or (ii) in any transaction in any government store established for the sale of alcoholic 
beverages, establishment in which tattooing or body-piercing is performed for hire or consideration, establishment in 
which pari-mutuel wagering or charitable gaming is conducted, or adult entertainment establishment in which 
performers appear nude or partially nude. The bill also directs the Department of Social Services to develop and 
implement procedures for enforcing the provisions of this act. 

Signed by President 
& Speaker 

HB1615 
Gilbert 

Virginia Residential Property Disclosure Act; disclosure of methamphetamine laboratory. Requires the owner of 
residential property who has actual knowledge that the residential property was previously used as a clandestine 
methamphetamine laboratory or that the property previously used as a clandestine methamphetamine laboratory has 
been cleaned up in accordance with the Department of Health guidelines, to provide a written disclosure when selling 
the property. Otherwise, the owner is required to provide a written disclosure that he makes no representation as to the 
presence of a clandestine methamphetamine laboratory on the property. The bill also provides that if residential 
property formerly used as a clandestine methamphetamine laboratory has been cleaned up in accordance with the 
guidelines established by the Department of Health, the person or entity performing the cleanup shall file a declaration 
of the cleanup in the public land records of the locality in which the property located. 

Approved by 
Governor 

HB1666 
Yost 

Licensure of professional counselors. Establishes minimum education requirements for licensure as a professional 
counselor and provides that an applicant must have received a master's degree from a program in which the primary 
emphasis is on preparation for the practice of counseling. The bill exempts individuals who meet all other requirements 
for licensure as a professional counselor related to coursework and completion of a supervised residency by July 1, 
2017, from provisions related to completion of a graduate degree. 

Approved by 
Governor 

HB1671 
Watson 

Alcoholic beverage control; tied house; exemption. Provides an exemption from the tied house restriction for one 
out-of-state winery, not under common control or ownership with any other winery, that is under common ownership 
or control with one restaurant licensed to sell wine at retail in Virginia, so long as any wine produced by that winery is 
purchased from a Virginia wholesale wine licensee by the restaurant before it is offered for sale to consumers. 

Approved by 
Governor 

HB1720 
Head 

Alcoholic beverage control; proof of legal age required. Provides that any person selling alcoholic beverages to an 
individual who the seller knows or has reason to believe is younger than 21 years of age shall require the individual to 
present a photo identification form issued by a governmental agency that contains the individual's complete name, 
height, weight, and date of birth indicating that the individual is 21 years of age or older. The bill excludes student 
identification cards as bona fide evidence of legal age. The bill provides that failure to require identification shall be 
deemed a violation. 

Approved by 
Governor 
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HB1806 
Garrett 

Substances used to manufacture methamphetamine. Adds ammonium nitrate to the list of substances of which the 
possession of two or more with the intent to manufacture methamphetamine is punishable as a Class 6 felony. The bill 
also strikes "metal" from the term "lithium metal." 

Approved by 
Governor 

HB1816 
Kilgore 

Allowing child or incapacitated person to be present in methamphetamine manufactory; penalty.Provides that 
any person 18 years of age or older who knowingly allows a child or mentally incapacitated or physically helpless 
person to be present in the same dwelling, apartment, unit of a hotel, garage, shed, or vehicle (i) during the manufacture 
or attempted manufacture of methamphetamine or (ii) where there are present, with intent to manufacture 
methamphetamine, at least two of the components of methamphetamine manufacture is guilty of a felony punishable 
by imprisonment for not less than 10 nor more than 40 years. Currently the prohibition applies only to a child in care or 
custody of the miscreant and does not punish for the presence of the child when the components of manufacture can be 
found in the residence or other specified place. 

Signed by President 
& Speaker 

HB1849 
Albo 

Alcoholic beverage control; operation of contract winemaking facilities. Includes in the privileges for winery and 
farm winery licensees the ability to operate a contract winemaking facility. In the bill, "contract winemaking facility" is 
defined as the premises of a licensed winery or farm winery that obtains grapes, fruits, and other plants grown 
exclusively in Virginia from a person holding a Class A farm winery license and crushes, processes, ferments, bottles, 
or provides any combination of such services pursuant to an agreement with the Class A farm winery licensee. 

Approved by 
Governor 

HB1907 
Anderson 

Driving while texting; primary offense; increased penalties. Provides that driving while texting is a traffic infraction 
punishable, for a first offense, by a fine of $250 and, for a second or subsequent offense, by a fine of $500. The current 
penalties are $20 for a first offense and $50 for a second or subsequent offense. The bill also changes the offense from 
a secondary offense (one that can only be charged when the offender is stopped for another, separate offense) to a 
primary offense. 

Approved by 
Governor 

HB1941 
Garrett 

Synthetic cannabinoids; research chemicals; penalties. Amends provisions added to the Code in previous years 
regarding the criminalization of synthetic cannabinoids and chemicals known as "research chemicals" (previously 
referred to as "bath salts") to add newly identified chemical compounds and structural classes. In addition to adding 
new chemical compounds as synthetic cannabinoids, the bill adds newly identified structural classes of synthetic 
cannabinoids so that new chemical compounds that fit within the structural class will nevertheless be considered 
synthetic cannabinoids without the precise chemical compound having to be added to the Code. 
 
HB1843; Loupassi 

Approved by 
Governor 

HB2077 
Cox 

Motor carrier and commercial driver's licensing.Amends several motor carrier and commercial driver's licensing 
laws. The bill clarifies and strengthens fitness and operating authority requirements for intrastate motor carriers. It also 
enables Virginia to comply with new Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regulation amendments regarding 
commercial motor vehicles and a prohibition on texting in commercial motor vehicles, and it codifies federal 
commercial driver's license requirements. This bill is identical to SB 1219. 
 

Approved by 
Governor 



Commission on VASAP                                Legislative Report                                                   August 5, 2013 
 
 
 

   Bill # / Patron                                                                                Summary                                                                                              Status 

HB2136 
Hodges 

Adding methasterone and prostanozol to Schedule III. Adds methasterone and prostanozol to Schedule III. Approved by 
Governor 

HB2268 
Gilbert 

Alcoholic beverage control; privileges of farm winery licensees. Allows a farm winery licensee to pre-mixwine to 
be served and sold for on-premises consumption at the retail establishments of the licensee. 

Approved by 
Governor 

HB2300 
Watson 

Alcoholic beverage control; tied house exception. Provides an exception from the tied house restrictions by allowing 
the granting of any retail license to a distillery licensee, or to an applicant for such license, or to a lessee of such person, 
a wholly owned subsidiary of such person, or its lessee under certain circumstances. Under current law, this exception 
is authorized for brewery and winery licensees. 

Approved by 
Governor 

SB832 
Stuart 

Mandatory minimum sentences to be served consecutively; penalty. Provides that for all crimes where a mandatory 
minimum sentence of imprisonment must be imposed on the guilty party, such sentence shall be served consecutively 
with any other sentence imposed on such party. Currently, the Code is inconsistent as some crimes that require a 
mandatory minimum sentence require that such sentences be served consecutively while others do not. 

Signed by President 
& Speaker 

SB1038 
Newman 

Non-conventional vehicles. Provides for the titling and registration of mopeds and distinctive license plates for low-
speed vehicles. The bill also requires a moped operator to carry government-issued photo identification and wear a face 
shield, safety glasses, or goggles if his moped is not equipped with safety glass or a windshield. The bill also makes all-
terrain vehicles, off-road motorcycles, and mopeds subject to the motor vehicle sales and use tax, if the owner does not 
show that they already paid the retail sales and use tax. The bill further classifies mopeds for valuation purposes in 
personal property taxation and allows localities to exempt mopeds from personal property taxation. The bill also 
replaces the term "scooter" with "foot-scooter" and makes other largely technical changes based upon 
recommendations made by DMV after a year-long study of Virginia's laws relating to non-conventional vehicles. The 
bill incorporates SB 1067. 

Governor:  Acts of 
Assembly Chapter 
Text 

SB1083 
Herring 

Synthetic cannabinoids; research chemicals; penalties. Amends provisions added to the Code in previous years 
regarding the criminalization of synthetic cannabinoids and chemicals known as "research chemicals" (previously 
referred to as "bath salts") to add newly identified chemical compounds and structural classes. In addition to adding 
new chemical compounds as synthetic cannabinoids, the bill adds newly identified structural classes of synthetic 
cannabinoids so that new chemical compounds that fit within the structural class will nevertheless be considered 
synthetic cannabinoids without the precise chemical compound having to be added to the Code. 
 
SB1318; Smith 

Signed by President 
& Speaker 

SB1112 
McDougle 

DUI; exemplary damages. Provides that in an action for personal injury or death arising from the operation of a motor 
vehicle, engine, or train, a defendant's conduct will be deemed so willful and wanton as to show a conscious disregard 
for the rights of others, thus entitling the plaintiff to an award of exemplary damages, if the defendant's blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) was or exceeded 0.15 at the time of the incident or at the time the blood or breath test was 
performed. Under current law, only the defendant's BAC at the time of the incident is considered. Results of a blood or 
breath test used for a DUI conviction are admissible for the purpose of showing willful and wanton conduct, and the 

Approved by 
Governor 
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certificate of analysis and a certified copy of the conviction are prima facie evidence of the conviction and the 
defendant's BAC. 

SB1127 
McWaters 

Alcoholic beverage control; operation of contract winemaking facilities. Includes in the privileges for winery and 
farm winery licensees the ability to operate a contract winemaking facility. In the bill, "contract winemaking facility" is 
defined as the premises of a licensed winery or farm winery that obtains grapes, fruits, and other plants grown 
exclusively in Virginia from a person holding a Class A farm winery license and crushes, processes, ferments, bottles, 
or provides any combination of such services pursuant to an agreement with the Class A farm winery licensee. 

Approved by 
Governor 

SB1219 
Newman 

Motor carrier and commercial driver's licensing. Amends several motor carrier and commercial driver's licensing 
laws. The bill clarifies and strengthens fitness and operating authority requirements for intrastate motor carriers. It also 
enables Virginia to comply with new Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regulation amendments regarding 
commercial motor vehicles and a prohibition on texting in commercial motor vehicles, and it codifies federal 
commercial driver's license requirements. This bill is identical to HB 2077. 

Approved by 
Governor 

SB1222 
Norment  
Howell 

Reckless driving; using a handheld communications device; penalty. Provides that driving while simultaneously 
using a handheld communications device for something other than verbal communication constitutes driving a motor 
vehicle that is not under proper control, punishable as reckless driving, a Class 1 misdemeanor. Under current law, the 
more specific offense of "texting while driving" (repealed by this bill) incurs a $20 fine and is a secondary offense, 
which means that a law-enforcement officer must have cause to stop or detain a driver for some other violation, the 
primary offense, before issuing a citation for texting while driving, the secondary offense. 
 
SB1160; Waters 
SB1238; Barker 

Signed by President 
& Speaker 

SB1235 
Black 

Alcoholic beverage control; operation of government stores. Clarifies that the requirement that all alcoholic 
beverages sold at government stores be in closed containers, sealed, and affixed with labels prescribed by the Board 
does not apply to tasting samples provided at government stores. 

Approved by 
Governor 

SB1272 
Norment 

Felony DUI; penalty. Provides that any person convicted of a felony DUI offense (including DUI manslaughter and 
DUI maiming, by motor vehicle or watercraft) is guilty of a Class 6 felony for any subsequent DUI conviction and 
subject to the same driver's license revocation provision as for a third or subsequent DUI conviction within 10 years, 
which means that the person can petition for reinstatement of his driver's license five years after the date of his last 
conviction. 

Approved by 
Governor 

SB1304 
Watkins 

Alcoholic beverage control; annual mixed beverage performing arts facility license. Creates the annual mixed 
beverage performing arts facility license and sets out the privileges of the license and state and local license taxes. 

Approved by 
Governor 

SB1349 
McEachin 

Alcoholic beverage control; mandatory revocation of mixed beverage licenses. Requires the ABC Board to revoke 
the license of a mixed beverage restaurant licensee that (i) does not meet the 45 percent food/beverage ratio more than 
two times in a 10-year period; (ii) has defrauded or attempted to defraud the ABC Board, or any federal, state, or local 
government or governmental agency or authority, by making or filing any report, document, or tax return required by 

Approved by 
Governor 
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statute or regulation that is fraudulent or contains a false representation of a material fact; or (iii) has willfully deceived 
or attempted to deceive the Board, or any federal, state, or local government or governmental agency or authority, by 
making or maintaining business records required by statute or regulation that are false or fraudulent. 

 


