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   Bill # / Patron                                                                                Summary                                                                                              Status 

HB172 

Albo 

Habitual offenders; restoration of driving privileges. Clarifies that the recommendations from the Virginia Alcohol Safety 

Action Program (VASAP) evaluation that must be conducted when a habitual offender petitions for the restoration of his 

driving privileges or for the issuance of a restricted license shall be given such weight as the court deems appropriate. The 

bill also provides that if more than 10 years have elapsed from the date a person was adjudicated a habitual offender and, 

during that time, such offender has not been convicted of any subsequent drug or alcohol-related offenses, the VASAP 

conducting the evaluation shall not recommend that the offender abstain from the use of alcohol as a condition of the 

restoration of his driving privileges or the issuance of a restricted license. 

Approved by 

Governor 

HB417 

Bagby 

Department of Motor Vehicles transactions. Allows the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to enter into contracts with 

contractors of state or federal agencies to conduct customer service transactions on behalf of such agencies for the benefit of 

Virginia residents. The bill allows DMV to receive a portion of the transaction fee required by the responsible agency or 

contractor to defray DMV's costs, provides a $1 discount for specified DMV licensing transactions conducted online, and 

ensures that DMV does not charge fees to federal, state, and local government agencies for information they request provided 

that such agencies do not charge the Commonwealth when it requests the same or similar information from those agencies. 

Finally, the bill provides for a driver's license classification for passenger cars and eliminates the requirement that individuals 

under the age of 21 who have one or more specified convictions retake the written driver's license examination. The bill 

contains technical amendments. 

Approved by 

Governor 

HB528 

Hodges 

Manufacture and distribution of prescription drugs in the Commonwealth. Eliminates the requirement that the Board of 

Pharmacy establish and implement a pedigree system for recording each distribution of a controlled substance from sale by a 

pharmaceutical manufacturer to a dispenser or person who will administer the controlled substance; defines "co-licensed 

partner" as a person who, with at least one other person, has the right to engage in the manufacturing or marketing of a 

prescription drug, consistent with state and federal law, and specifies that a co-licensed partner may be a manufacturer of a 

controlled substance; and defines "third-party logistics provider" as a person who provides or coordinates warehousing of or 

other logistics services for a drug or device in interstate commerce on behalf of a manufacturer, wholesale distributor, or 

dispenser of the drug or device but does not take ownership of the product or have responsibility for directing the sale or 

disposition of the product. The bill specifies that bulk drug substances used for compounding drugs distributed by a supplier 

other than a licensed wholesale distributor or registered nonresident wholesale distributor must be provided by a supplier 

who is approved by the Board of Pharmacy as well as the federal Food and Drug Administration and requires every 

pharmacy, nonresident pharmacy, wholesale distributor, and nonresident wholesale distributor to comply with federal 

requirements for an electronic, interoperable system to identify, trace, and verify prescription drugs as they are distributed. 

The bill authorizes the Board of Pharmacy to deny, revoke, suspend, or take other disciplinary actions against holders of a 

third-party logistics provider permit, manufacturer permit, or nonresident manufacturer permit; applies the inspection and 

audit requirements that apply to wholesale distributors to nonresident wholesale drug distributors, third-party logistics 

providers, manufacturers, and nonresident manufacturers; creates a permitting process for third-party logistics providers; 

allows holders of a manufacturer permit to distribute the drug manufactured, made, produced, packed, packaged, repackaged, 

Approved by 

Governor 
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relabeled, or prepared to anyone other than the end user without the need to obtain a wholesale distributor permit; and creates 

a process for registration of nonresident manufacturers of prescription drugs. 

SB125 

Stanley 

Jr. 

Punitive damages for persons injured by intoxicated drivers. Provides that, for the purposes of a punitive damages award 

in a civil action for personal injury or death arising from the operation of a motor vehicle while intoxicated, in order to have a 

rebuttable presumption that a defendant's blood alcohol concentration at the time of the incident causing injury or death was 

at least as high as results of a blood or breath test, such test must have been administered in accordance with the provisions of 

§§ 18.2-268.1 through 18.2-268.12, which lay out the procedures for obtaining blood and breath tests. Under current law, to 

have the rebuttable presumption, such blood or breath test must have been administered within three hours of the incident 

causing injury or death. 

Approved by 

Governor 

SB350 

Deeds 

Prisoners unable to give consent for medical or mental health treatment. Adds licensed professional counselors and 

licensed clinical social workers to the list of providers who are required by court order to inform the court and the prisoner's 

attorney of any change in the prisoner's condition resulting in restoration of the prisoner's capability to consent to treatment. 

Approved by 

Governor 

 

Color Codes: 

Green:  Bill passed both House & Senate 

Red:  Bill failed  

Blue:  Bill is active 

Yellow: Bill is active and applies to DUI, Ignition Interlock, or VASAP 

Purple:  Bill has been incorporated into another bill 

 


